Section 8.—Royal Canadian Mounted Police.*

The Royal Canadian Mounted Police is a constabulary maintained by the Dominion Government. It was organized in 1873, and was known as the North West Mounted Police, whose duties were confined to what were then known as the North West Territories. In 1904, its name was changed to Royal North West Mounted Police.

In 1905, when Alberta and Saskatchewan were constituted provinces, an arrangement was made whereby the Force continued to discharge its duties as formerly, each province making a contribution towards defraying the cost. This was continued until 1917. Soon after the close of the War of 1914-18, an extension of Governmental activities made it obvious that the enforcement of Dominion Statutes was assuming increasing proportions, and that it would soon be necessary to have a police force responsible therefor. In 1918, the Royal North West Mounted Police was assigned the duty of the enforcement of Dominion legislation for the whole of Western Canada west of Port Arthur and Fort William, and in 1920 for the whole of Canada.

In 1920, the name of the Force was changed to the Royal Canadian Mounted Police, and the former Dominion Police with headquarters at Ottawa, whose duties were connected largely with guarding public buildings in that city and the Canadian Government dockyards at Halifax, N.S., and Esquimalt, B.C., were absorbed by the Royal Canadian Mounted Police.

At the present time, the R.C.M. Police is responsible throughout Canada for the enforcement of the laws against smuggling by land, sea, and air. It enforces the provisions of the Excise Act, is responsible for the suppression of the traffic in narcotic drugs and for the enforcement of the Migratory Birds Convention Act, and assists the Mines and Resources, Fisheries, and several other Dominion Departments, in executing the provisions of their respective Acts and, in some cases, in administrative duties. It is responsible for the protection of government buildings and dockyards. It is the sole police force operating in the Yukon Territory and the Northwest Territories, and performs a variety of services in all provinces and both Territories for the Dominion Government.

Under the R.C.M. Police Act, any province may enter into an agreement with the Dominion Government for the services of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police, to enforce provincial laws and the Criminal Code, upon payment for its services. At the present time such agreements are in force with the Provinces of Prince Edward Island, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Manitoba, Saskatchewan, and Alberta.

The Force is controlled and administered by a Minister of the Crown (at present the Minister of Justice) and may be employed anywhere in Canada. From a force of 300 in 1873, the strength on Dec. 31, 1939, was 3,875. Its means of transport at the latter date consisted of 150 horses, 538 motor vehicles, 271 sleigh dogs and 16 police dogs. The Force is organized into 13 divisions of varying strength distributed over the entire country. The term of engagement is five years for recruits, with re-enlistment for a period not exceeding five years. The Officers are commissioned by the Crown. Recruits are trained at Regina, Sask. The course

^{*} Revised by Commissioner S. T. Wood, Royal Canadian Mounted Police.